PARISH OF ST LAWRENCE



Minutes of the Electoral Assembly

Held on Wednesday 31st July 2024 at 7.00 p.m.

Assembly Room, St Lawrence

Welcome and Apologies: 7 people present

The Connétable welcomed all present.

Apologies:

Deputy Kirsten Morel

Deputy Andy Howell

Deputy Elaine Miller

Mr Sean Morvan

Mrs Joy Morvan

Deputies in Attendance:

None

Convening Notice:

The Parish Executive Officer Mrs L Nozedar read the convening notice as advertised in the boîte grillée and the Jersey Gazette in accordance with statutory requirements.

In accordance with Article 19 of the Public Elections (Jersey) Law, A Parish of St Lawrence nomination meeting will be held at St Lawrence Parish Hall on Wednesday 31 July 2024 at 7pm to elect a Procureur for a 3-year term of office.

All electors are welcome to attend.

A nomination for each candidate must be produced to the meeting and must be completed by a proposer and 9 seconders who are electors in the Parish.

In each election if there are:

- more candidates than vacancies a poll will be held on Wednesday 11 September 2024
- not more candidates than vacancies any duly nominated candidate will be declared elected at the nomination meeting

To vote in this election you must be registered by midday on the day before the nomination meeting

Deidre Mezbourian

Connétable de St Laurent

1. Election for Procureur du Bien Public

The Connétable invited nominations for the role of Procureur du Bien Public.

Mr Martin Sabey addressed the Assembly; he said that he had pleasure in proposing Mr Bruce Derek Harrison, for the role of Procureur du Bien Public. He informed the Assembly that he had worked with Mr Harrison for over 20 years as Rates Assessor's and Procureur and found him to be kind and compassionate.

Mr Sabey read the full Nomination form, the names of all signatories having already been

| | confirmed as electors of the Parish: | | |
|----|---|---|--|
| | Martin Alfred John Sabey | Pamela Staley | |
| | James Gray | Kirsten Morel | |
| | Guy Woods | Michael Orpin | |
| | Caroline Orpin | Christine Gill | |
| | William Morvan | Stephen Linney | |
| | Mr Sabey then read the Candidate Declaration, shown at the bottom of the Nomination form, saying it had been signed by the candidate on 12 th July 2024. | | |
| | The Connétable asked if there were any further nominations for the role of Procureur du Bien Public. | | |
| | The Connétable informed the Assembly that the Public Elections (Jersey) Law 2002 requires a Nomination Assembly to last no less than a statutory 10 minutes. There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Bruce Derek Harrison duly re-elected as Procureur du Public for the Parish of St Lawrence and warned him to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 13 th September 2024 at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office. | | |
| | In congratulating Procureur Harrison on his re-election, the Connétable thanked him for putting himself forward for the position and for his 21 years' service to the Parish as both Rates Assessor and Procureur du Bien Public and for re-sanding for a further 3 year term. | | |
| | | | |
| | The Connétable thanked all the Parishioners at the Assembly for their attendance. | | |
| | Meeting Closed: | | |
| | There being no further business the | Connétable declared the meeting closed at 19.12pm | |
| | | | |
| α. | i | D . | |

| Signed: | Date |
|---------|------|
| 3 | |

Mrs Deidre Mezbourian, Connétable

President of the Assembly