PARISH OF ST LAWRENCE



Minutes of the Electoral Assembly

Held on Monday 13th February 2023 at 7.00 p.m.

Assembly Room, St Lawrence

Welcome and Apologies: 27 people present

The Connétable welcomed all present.

Apologies:

Centenier Mike Haden

Deputy Hilary Jeune

Deputy Kirsten Morel

Mrs Jenny Cartwright

Deputies in Attendance:

Deputy Elaine Millar

Deputy Andy Howell

Convening Notice:

The Parish Executive Officer Mrs L Nozedar read the convening notice as advertised in the boîte grillée and the Jersey Gazette in accordance with statutory requirements.

Nomination meetings will be held on the 13 February 2023 to receive nominations of persons wishing to be a candidate in each election. All electors of the Parish are welcome to attend.

In each election:

- if there are more candidates than vacancies, a poll will be held on Wednesday 8
 March 2023
- if there are not more candidates than vacancies, any duly nominated candidate will be declared elected at the nomination meeting.

The closing date for registering to vote in each election is midday on the day BEFORE the nomination meeting.

Each election is for a 3-year term of office expiring March 2026 (unless otherwise shown).

Paroisse de St Laurent

7pm on Monday 13 February 2023 at the Parish Hall - election for Procureur du Bien Public

Deidre Mezbourian

Connétable de St Laurent

1. Election for Procureur du Bien Public

The Connétable invited nominations for the role of Procureur du Bien Public.

Procureur du Bien Public Mr Martin Sabey addressed the Assembly to say that he had pleasure in nominating Mr Stephen Philip Linney to follow him as Procureur du Bien Public. He continued that he believed Mr Linney was well suited to undertake the role as, having known him for 40 years, he knew him to be kind, thoughtful, honest and reliable, all qualities which a

Procureur should possess. They had both been partners at Ernst & Young and with that professional background and experience, he had no hesitation in proposing him for the role.

Mr Sabey then read the full Nomination form, the names of all signatories having already been confirmed as electors of the Parish:

Martin Alfred John Sabey Peter Howard Beamish Kathryn Helen Fowler Richard William Le Lievre

Helen Jane Cartier-Knox Loreen Joyce Edley John Campbell Boothman Jane Emily Butlin Bruce Harrison Kim Philippa Lock

The Connétable explained that the Public Elections (Jersey) Law 2002 requires an Assembly to last no less than a statutory 10 minutes and, that time having elapsed without any further nominations having been made, the Connétable declared Mr Stephen Philip Linney duly elected as Procureur du Bien Public for the Parish of St Lawrence.

The Connétable congratulated Mr Linney, welcomed him to the Municipality and said that she looked forward to working with him in the future. The Connétable then invited him to address the Assembly when he thanked his proposer and seconders, saying that he was pleased to have been elected and looked forward to serving the Parish as Procureur du Bien Public.

The Connétable warned Mr Linney to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 10th March at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office, however, on being advised that he would be out of the Island on that date the Connétable confirmed that a suitable alternative date would be arranged.

The Connétable then thanked outgoing Procureur Mr Martin Sabey for his service to the Parish as both Rates Assessor and Procureur du Bien Public, telling the Assembly that he had been first elected as a Rates Assessor in 2003. He was subsequently re-elected and served a three year term from 2004, continuing to be elected in that capacity [and serving for two terms as Chairman], until 2017. He was sworn to office on 10th March 2017 as Procureur du Bien Public and was re-elected in 2020, being sworn to office again on the 13th March 2020. She said that she had very much appreciated the sound advice he had given in the role of Procureur and she had enjoyed working with hm.

The Connétable then invited Mr Sabey to address the Assembly, and in doing so, he said that he had very much enjoyed both roles and thanked the Connétable, fellow Procureur Bruce Harrison and Leasa Nozedar, the Parish Executive Officer.

N # 4*	α	
Meeting	LUCDU	•
VIC	CHUSCH	•

President of the Assembly

There being no further business the Connétable declared the meeting closed at 7.19pm

Signed:	Date
Mrs Deidre Mezbourian, Connétable	