## PARISH OF ST LAWRENCE



Minutes of the Electoral Assembly		
	Held on Monday 13th February 2023 at 7.20 p.m.	
	Assembly Room, St Lawrence	
	Welcome and Apologies: 27 people present	
7	The Connétable welcomed all present.	
	Apologies:	
	Centenier Mike Haden	
	Deputy Hilary Jeune	
	Deputy Kirsten Morel	
	Mrs Jenny Cartwright	
	Deputies in Attendance:	
	Deputy Elaine Millar	
	Deputy Andy Howell	
	Convening Notice:	
	The Parish Executive Officer Mrs L Nozedar read the convening notice as advertised in the boîte grillée and the Jersey Gazette in accordance with statutory requirements.	
	Nomination meetings will be held on the 13 February 2023 to receive nominations of persons wishing to be a candidate in each election. All electors of the Parish are welcome to attend.	
	In each election:	
	<ul> <li>if there are more candidates than vacancies, a poll will be held on Wednesday 8</li> <li>March 2023</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>if there are not more candidates than vacancies, any duly nominated candidate will be declared elected at the nomination meeting.</li> </ul>	
	The closing date for registering to vote in each election is midday on the day BEFORE the nomination meeting.	
	Each election is for a 3 year term of office expiring March 2026 (unless otherwise shown).	

# Paroisse de St Laurent

7.15pm on Monday 13 February 2023 at the Parish Hall - election for Centenier and election of person to complete a term of office as Centenier (to June 2025)

Deidre Mezbourian

## Connétable de St Laurent

#### 1. Election for Centenier

The Connétable invited nominations for the role of Centenier.

Mrs Sarah Entwistle addressed the Assembly; she said that she had pleasure in proposing Mr

Stuart Alan Lusby for the role of Centenier.

Mrs Entwistle read the full Nomination form, the names of all signatories having already been confirmed as electors of the Parish:

Sarah Elizabeth Entwistle
Simon Bossy
Helen Worthy
Paul Wojciechowski
Frances Ferris

Pamela Staley
Stephen Camm
Elizabeth Pallot
Jonathan Emmanuel
Alison Cooper

Mrs Entwistle then read the Candidate Declaration, shown at the bottom of the Nomination form, being "I am not disqualified, by virtue of the Honorary Police (Jersey) Regulations 2005 or any other enactment, for being elected as Centenier of the parish of St Lawrence", saying it had been signed by the candidate on 17<sup>th</sup> December 2022.

The Connétable asked if there were any further nominations for the role of Centenier and there being none, she declared Mr Stuart Alan Lusby duly re-elected as Centenier for the Parish of St Lawrence and warned him to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 24<sup>th</sup> February at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office.

In congratulating Centenier Lusby on his re-election, the Connétable thanked him for the service he had already given to the parish since he was first sworn as Centenier on 25<sup>th</sup> October 2019, telling the Assembly that he had been re-elected and sworn to office again on 21<sup>st</sup> February 2023.

The Connétable invited Centenier Lusby to address the Assembly when he thanked his proposer and seconders.

#### 2. Election for Centenier

The Connétable invited nominations for the role of Centenier to complete the term of office of Jonathan Mark Woodall.

Mrs Marion Hibbeard addressed the Assembly; she said that she had pleasure in proposing Mr James Mckinlay Mitchell Gray.

Mrs Hibbeard read the full Nomination form, the names of all signatories having already been confirmed as electors of the Parish:

Marion Rose Hibbeard Jennifer Ann Cartwright
Ian Winston Le Brun Gerald John Le Brun
David Pittom Rodney Stuart Pallot

Antonia Pittom Ann Pilley Mark Bingle Jane Clayton

Mrs Hibbeard then read the Candidate Declaration, shown at the bottom of the Nomination form, being "I am not disqualified, by virtue of the Honorary Police (Jersey) Regulations 2005 or any other enactment, for being elected as Centenier of the parish of St Lawrence", saying it had been signed by the candidate on 15th December 2022.

The Connétable asked if there were any further nominations for the role of Centenier and there being none, she declared James McKinlay Mitchell Gray duly re-elected as Centenier for the Parish of St Lawrence and warned him to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 24<sup>th</sup> February at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office.

The Connétable thanked Vingtenier Gray for agreeing to undertake the role of Centenier which was to complete the term of office of former Centenier Jonathan Mark Woodall. She advised him that his new term of office would finish on 9 <sup>th</sup> June 2025, before reminding the Assembly that Centenier-elect Gray had only joined the Honorary Police in 2022, when he was sworn to office
as a Constable's Officer on 4 <sup>th</sup> February. He was then sworn as Vingtenier on 29 <sup>th</sup> July 2022, having served in both capacities for the Vingtaine of Bas de la Vallee.
The Connétable invited Centenier-elect Gray to address the Assembly when he thanked his proposer and seconders.
She then gave a vote of thanks to former Centenier Woodall for serving the Parish as Constables Officer from November 2012, as Vingtenier from March 2015 and as Centenier from May 2016 until December 2022 where he resigned due to the pressures of work.
The Connétable warned Centenier-elect Gray to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 24 <sup>th</sup> February at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office.
The Connétable thanked all the Parishioners at the Assembly for their attendance.
Meeting Closed:
There being no further business the Connétable declared the meeting closed at 7.31pm

Signed:	Date
515H041	Date

Mrs Deidre Mezbourian, Connétable

**President of the Assembly**