## PARISH OF ST LAWRENCE



## **Minutes of the Electoral Assembly** Held on Monday 14th October 2019 at 7.00 p.m. **Assembly Room, St Lawrence** Welcome and Apologies: 17 people present The Connétable welcomed all present. **Apologies:** Reverend Phil Warren Mr David Mezbourian Mrs Gloria Jenkins Mr Mark Woodall **Deputies in Attendance:** Deputy Gregory Guida **Minutes Silence** The Connétable invited the Assembly to observe a minute's silence in memory of the late Mr William Morvan, former Connétable of the Parish between 1981 and 1984. **Convening Notice:** The Parish Executive Officer Mrs L Nozedar read the convening notice as advertised in the boîte grillée and the Jersey Gazette in accordance with statutory requirements. Pursuant to an Act of the Royal Court dated 4<sup>th</sup> October 2019, whereby it is ordered that an Election be held in the Parish of St Lawrence to fill the office of Centenier. In accordance with Article 19 of the Public Elections (Jersey) Law 2002, notice is hereby given that an Assembly of Electors of the Parish of St Lawrence will be held on Monday 14<sup>th</sup> October at 7.00pm at the Parish Hall to elect one Centenier to complete the term of office of Nicola Parker. 9 October 2019 Deidre Mezbourian Connétable **Election for Centenier** The Connétable invited nominations for the role of Centenier to complete the term of office of Nicola Parker. Mr John Hedley Pallot addressed the Assembly; he said that he had pleasure in nominating Stuart Alan Lusby, whom he has known for 15 years after meeting at St Lawrence Battle of

Flowers. He continued that in his opinion Mr Lusby would be a good member of the St

Lawrence Honorary Police.

	Mr Pallot read the Nomination form, the names of all signatories having already been confirmed	
	as electors of the Parish:	
	Mr Simon Bossy Mr Paul Wojciechowski Mr Edward Noel	Mrs Sara Smith Mr Stephen Camm
	Mrs Sarah Entwistle	Mr David Cooper Mrs Frances Ferris
	Mr Brian Rondel	wits Frances Ferris
	Mr Pallot then read the Candidate Declaration, shown at the bottom of the Nomination form.	
	The Connétable asked if there were any further nominations for the role of Centenier.	
	The Connétable informed the Assembly that the Public Elections (Jersey) Law 2002 requires an Assembly to last no less than a statutory 10 minutes. There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Stuart Alan Lusby to be elected as Centenier for the Parish of St Lawrence. The Connétable thanked Mr Lusby for agreeing to undertake the role of Centenier, to complete the term of office of Nicola Parker. The Connétable reminded the Centenier Elect that he would serve until 9 <sup>th</sup> March 2019.  She then gave a vote of thanks to Nicola Parker for serving the Parish as Constables Officer from September 2009; she was then sworn as Centenier in November 2009 until March 2011. After a break in service she was re-sworn as Centenier in March 2014 until April 2016. Ms Parker then agreed to complete the term of office of Deputy Gregory Guida as Centenier from September 2018 until she resigned in October 2019.  The Connétable warned Mr Lusby to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 25 <sup>th</sup> October 2019 at 10am to take the Customary Oath of Office.	
	2. The Connétable thanked all the Parishioners and the Assembly for their attendance.	
	3. Meeting Closed:	
	There being no further business th	ne Connétable declared the meeting closed at 7.14pm
Signed		
Signed: Date		

Mrs Deidre Mezbourian, Connétable President of the Assembly