PARISH OF ST LAWRENCE



Minutes of the Parish Assembly Held on Thursday 12th December 2019 at 7.00 p.m. **Assembly Room, St Lawrence** Welcome and Apologies: 73 people present The Connétable welcomed all present and led the Assembly in prayer. **Apologies:** Rector Phil Warren, Deputy Kirsten Morel, Mrs Marion Hibbeard, Mrs Maureen Clarke. **Deputies in Attendance:** Deputy Gregory Guida. **Convening Notice:** An Assembly of Principals and Electors of the Parish of St Lawrence will be held in the Parish Hall on Thursday 12th December 2019, at 7pm to: -1. Receive, and if deemed advisable, approve the Act of the Parish Assembly held on 6th November 2019. 2. In accordance with Article 32 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005, to elect two members of the Rate Assessment Committee. 3. To elect three members of the Comité des Chemins 4. To elect two Inspecteurs des Chemins, for Vingtaines Bas de la Vallee, Coin Hatain, Coin Motier, Coin Tourgis Nord, Coin Tourgis Sud, and one inspector for Vingtaine Haut de la Vallee. Mrs Deidre Mezbourian 4 December 2019 Connétable Receive, and if deemed advisable, approve the Act of the Parish Assembly held on 6th November 1. 2019. The Connétable asked for a proposer and seconder for the minutes. They were proposed by Mr John Emmanuel and seconded by Mr Brian Raffray. On a show of hands, all were in favour with none against. The Minutes having been approved were signed by the Connétable as President of the Assembly. In accordance with Article 32 of the Rates (Jersey) Law 2005, to elect two members of the Rate 2. Assessment Committee. The Connétable invited nominations for two members of the Rate Assessment Committee. o Mr Michael Orpin was proposed by Mr Ian Jayes and seconded by Mr Geoffrey Fisher. o Ms Pamela Staley was proposed by Mr Ian Jayes and seconded by Mrs Jenny Cartwright.

There being no further nominations the Connétable declared that Mr Orpin and Ms Staley were duly elected and thanked them both for their service. The Connétable warned Mr Orpin and Ms Staley to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 20th December 2019 at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office.

3. To elect three members of the Comité des Chemins

The Connétable invited nominations for three members of the Comité des Chemins.

- o Mrs Jenny Cartwright was proposed by Mrs Ann Pilley and seconded by Mrs Eileen Palmer.
- o Mr Rodney Pallot was proposed by Mrs Maureen Le Brun and seconded by Mr Ian Le Brun.
- Mr Brian Raffray was proposed by Mr David Mezbourian and seconded by Mr John Emmanuel.
- Mr Eton Winston Le Brun was proposed by Mrs Judith Pallot and seconded by Mr Bruce Thomas.

There being four nominations for three positions the Connétable declared that an election would be held, to be carried out by secret ballot. Following the taking of the poll, the ballot papers were counted by Procurers Bruce Harrison and Martin Sabey and verified by the Parish Executive Officer, Leasa Nozedar and Parish Administration Officer, Joy Le Cornu.

The Connétable declared the votes cast as follows: Mr Eton Winston Le Brun 63 votes, Mrs Jenny Cartwright 48 votes, Mr Rodney Pallot 46 votes and Mr Brian Raffray 35 votes.

The Connétable declared that Mr Le Brun, Mrs Cartwright and Mr Pallot were duly elected and warned them to appear before the Royal Court on Friday 20th December 2019 at 10am to take the customary Oath of Office.

The Connétable then gave a vote of thanks to Mr John Emmanuel and Mr Brian Raffray, both of whom were standing down from the Roads Committee. They had served the Parish for many years, both of them having been a Roads Inspector before their election to the Roads Committee.

To elect two Inspecteurs des Chemins, for Vingtaines Bas de la Vallee, Coin Hatain, Coin Motier, Coin Tourgis Nord, Coin Tourgis Sud, and one inspector for Vingtaine Haut de la Vallee.

The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine of Bas de la Vallée.

o Mrs Christine Gill was proposed by Mr Hugh Gill and seconded by Centenier Mike Haden.

There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mrs Gill to be duly elected.

The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine of Coin Hatain.

- o Mr Derrick Frigot was proposed by Mrs Maureen Le Brun and seconded by Mr Eton Winston Le Brun.
- o Mr David Pittom was proposed by Mrs Monica Ison and seconded by Mr Bruce Thomas.

There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Frigot and Mr Pittom to be duly elected.

	The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine of Coin Motier.
	o Mr Mark Bingle was proposed by Mr Ian Le Brun and seconded by Mrs Beverley Bingle.
	o Mr Ian le Brun was proposed by Mr Rodney Pallot and seconded by Mr Mark Bingle.
	There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Bingle and Mr Le Brun to be duly elected.
	The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine of Coin Tourgis Nord.
	o Mr Steven Carter was proposed by Mrs Pauline Renault and seconded by Mrs Ann Sarre.
	o Mr David Renault was proposed by Mr Brian Raffray and seconded by Mr John Emmanuel.
	There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Carter and Mr Renault to be duly elected.
	The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine of Coin Tourgis Sud.
	o Mrs Monica Ison was proposed by Mr David Luke and seconded by Mr Rodney Pallot.
	There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mrs Ison to be duly elected.
	The Connétable invited nominations for the Vingtaine Haut de la Vallée.
	 Mr Gerald Le Brun was proposed by Mr David Mezbourian and seconded by Mr John Emmanuel.
	There being no further nominations, the Connétable declared Mr Le Brun to be duly elected.
	The Connétable warned those who had been elected to appear before the Royal Court on Friday $20^{\rm th}$ December 2019 at 10am to take the customary 0ath of Office.
	The Connétable thanked Mr Ian Jayes for his service to the Parish as Roads Inspector for the Vingtain of Bas de la Vallée, he had stood down after four terms of office.
	Before closing the Assembly, the Connétable thanked those who had allowed their name to go forward for election and congratulated those who had been successful, saying that she looked forward to working with them.
	She then thanked everybody for attending the Parish Assembly and gave particular thanks to the Procureurs and Parish staff for their help, before wishing all present a Happy Christmas and New Year.
	There being no further business the Connétable declared the meeting closed at 7.56pm.
ię	ned: Date